

ROBERTO CLEMENTE AWARD

The Roberto Clemente Award is given annually to a Major League player who combines a dedication to giving back to the community with outstanding skills on the baseball field.

FAST FACTS

- Since 1971, Major League Baseball has annually presented an award to recognize a player who
 combines a dedication to giving back to the community with outstanding skills on the baseball field.
- The award, originally known as the Commissioner's Award, was renamed in honor of Roberto Clemente in 1973 after the Hall of Famer and 15-time All-Star died in a plane crash on December 31, 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.
- Each Major League Baseball Club selects a local Roberto Clemente Award nominee.
- Club nominees are then eligible for the league-wide Roberto Clemente Award, which is presented on-field annually during the World Series with members of the Clemente family.
- A \$7,500 donation in the name of each local Club is made to the charity of his choice, with the league wide recipient receiving an additional \$30,000 contribution to his charity of choice.
- The league-wide recipient of the Roberto Clemente Award is selected by fans and a special panel of baseball dignitaries and media members. This group includes Roberto's sons and Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr.
- Prior recipients include twenty (20) members of the Baseball Hall of Fame.
- Active league-wide recipients may be distinguished with Clemente's number 21 on their back of their caps for the remainder of their careers.
- "I have always said, I would rather be remembered for what I do off the field, than for what I accomplish on it. To have our work recognized in the same context as Clemente is truly one of the most humbling experiences of my life." Albert Pujols, 2008 Roberto Clemente Award recipient

ROBERTO CLEMENTE AWARD RECIPIENTS

1971	Willie Mays*	1985	Don Baylor	1999	Tony Gwynn*	2013	Carlos Beltrán
1972	Brooks Robinson*	1986	Gary Maddox	2000	Al Leiter	2014	Paul Konerko
1973	Al Kaline*	1987	Rick Sutcliffe	2001	Curt Schilling	2017	Jimmy Rollins
1974	Willie Stargell*	1988	Dale Murphy	2002	Jim Thome*	2015	Andrew McCutchen
1975	Lou Brock*	1989	Gary Carter*	2003	Jamie Moyer	2016	Curtis Granderson
1976	Pete Rose	1990	Dave Stewart	2004	Edgar Martínez*	2017	Andre Rizzo
1977	Rod Carew*	1991	Harold Reynolds	2005	John Smoltz*	2018	Yadier Molina
1978	Greg Luzinski	1992	Cal Ripken, Jr.*	2006	Carlos Delgado	2019	Carlos Carrasco
1979	Andre Thornton	1993	Barry Larkin*	2007	Craig Biggio*	2020	Adam Wainwright
1980	Phil Niekro*	1994	Dave Winfield*	2008	Albert Pujols	2021	Nelson Cruz
1981	Steve Garvey	1995	Ozzie Smith*	2009	Derek Jeter*	2022	Justin Turner
1982	Ken Singleton	1996	Kirby Puckett*	2010	Tim Wakefield	2023	Aaron Judge
1983	Cecil Cooper	1997	Eric Davis	2011	David Ortiz*	2024	Salvador Perez
1984	Ron Guidry	1998	Sammy Sosa	2012	Clayton Kershaw		

^{*} denotes member of Baseball's Hall of Fame